If you were recently caught in a traffic collision, your first move should be contacting your car insurance provider to inform them of the accident and determine what your next steps should be. Depending on the situation, this may be all you need to do to recover for the financial consequences of your accident. However, in other cases, this may be just the first step in pursuing more comprehensive restitution through a personal injury claim.

Either way, understanding insurance coverages in McDonough can be key to effectively protecting your rights following a serious accident. If you have any questions about what your policy covers and what your recovery options might be available in your unique circumstances, a seasoned car accident attorney could provide guidance during a confidential consultation.

Minimum Insurance Requirements Under State Law

Every person who owns a motor vehicle in the state of Georgia must purchase and maintain liability insurance coverage to legally drive on public roads. This insurance is meant to cover losses that other motorists sustain in an accident caused partially or primarily by the policyholder. Currently, the minimum amounts of coverage required under state law are $25,000 for bodily injury to another person in a single incident, $50,000 for all bodily injuries stemming from a single incident, and $25,000 for property damage from a single incident.

Additionally, Georgia residents may purchase physical damage insurance that would reimburse them for damage to their own vehicle, although this type of coverage is not mandated under state law. Collision coverage only offers reimbursement up to policy limits for vehicle damage caused by a crash with another car. Alternatively, comprehensive coverage covers damage caused by incidents other than traffic accidents like fires and vandalism. After an accident, policyholders with this type of coverage may pursue restitution for covered losses through their own insurance provider no matter who bears fault for the incident in question.

Insurance companies in McDonough also generally offer uninsured motorist coverage, which would provide compensation for crash-related losses if the at-fault party does not have sufficient liability insurance to cover a claimant’s losses. Even if such an uninsured party faces criminal consequences for their failure to comply with state law, uninsured motorist coverage might be the only way for an injured party to recover financially for their damages.

Filing An Insurance Claim After A Wreck In Mcdonough

Unlike personal injury claims, there is no specific deadline prescribed under state law for filing an insurance claim after an auto accident in McDonough. Still, it is typically best to file insurance claims as soon as possible after a wreck occurs, and no later than 30 days after the incident. Waiting longer than this could greatly increase the risk of a rejected claim, either because important evidence indicating fault for the crash is no longer available or because the insurance provider decides that a claimant waited too long to notify them of their damages.

Still, it is important to gather as much relevant information as possible before pursuing restitution through car insurance coverage in McDonough, including contact information for parties involved and witnesses nearby, as well as photos and documents regarding vehicle damage and injuries. It may also be worth exploring whether more than one insurance policy could offer coverage for a particular incident. Support from a seasoned car accident attorney could be essential to completing all these preliminary steps in a timely fashion, submitting a comprehensive claim, and addressing potential issues with a claim after it has been processed.

For more information on Insurance Coverages in McDonough, Georgia, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (470) 729-9050 today.

To Quickly Contact
Carl Chapman