Results of your test will be used by the prosecution to prove that your alcohol level was above the legal limit of .08 grams. If you had any amount of an illegal or controlled, substance in your system at the time of the arrest, then that can also be used against you by the prosecution. Additionally, the presence of marijuana and/or prescription drugs can also be used to prove you were less safe on the road.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI, you need to enlist the help of the Best DUI Attorney around. The Law Office of Carl Chapman will be at your side advising you every step of the way. If you are located in or near McDonough, GA, call (470)728-1725 for a consultation.
What are the possible consequences if I am arrested for DUI in the state of Georgia?
Being arrested for DUI can cause quite a disruption in your everyday life, as it could affect your license, family, and job. The following are possible consequences of a DUI conviction under the current Georgia DUI Law.
Administrative License Suspension. This is a separate hearing from the criminal proceedings of a DUI charge. There is a possibility that there could be an administrative suspension of your Georgia driver’s license. There is a possibility that this could happen before you are even convicted of DUI.
If you refuse to take a state-administered test or if your blood alcohol level was 0.08 or more grams, you could face a license suspension for 12 months beginning 30 days from your arrest. You have the right to file an appeal for up to 30 days.
Criminal Consequences if convicted of DUI in Georgia. For your first DUI conviction in Georgia, you can face a maximum of up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The minimum consequences that you might see are 24 hours in jail and a $300 fine. There are also mandatory consequences of 40 hours of community service, completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction course, and 12 months of probation.
Your second DUI conviction within 10 years will bring with it a maximum of up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine or a minimum of 72 hours in jail and a fine of $600. You will also serve 240 hours of community service, complete a DUI course, complete a substance abuse evaluation, and have 12 months of probation.